Take it easy

“Don’t let the sound of your own wheels drive you crazy
Lighten up while you still can
Don’t even try to understand
Just find a place to make your stand, and take it easy” – Eagles – Take it easy

“A week is sometimes a whole lifetime ago” – Katz

Wow. What a week it has been so far. Brexit is rolling forward. Anil Kumble the new coach of the team. Terror attacks and the stand off against our NSG stance. World opted to change around me. I did my best to keep up. The last week almost seems like a lifetime ago now.

With the shoulder busted, I was rendered immobile for the better part of the last week. Gruesome excruciating experience. There definitely was pain. And there was pain beyond the pain, and that was a doozy.

This blog has been sitting in my drafts for a week now. It’s funny the way things started. I stormed to a chemist near me. The ask was simple. I thought a simple muscle spray would ease things out. It was a simple cause and effect moment. The chemist was an interesting bloke. He introduced himself again and reminded me that he had approached me a few years ago over ‘Alternate paths to losing weight’ .

‘You’ve lost a lot’, he said.

I brimmed with pride. It’s always a fantastic feeling to have my sweat acknowledged. I told him about the changes I made to my life choices.

‘You really didn’t have to’. he said and took me on this magical pitch over herbs found somewhere near Amazonian rainforest. The guy had noble intentions. He wanted to make a little more money. He also cared about my wellbeing. He vouched for the safety the miracle cure offered. He then reminded me that I had squandered the last two years of my life taking the hard road.

He politely reminded me of the fact that I could have taken the easy way out.

That got me thinking. I sat down contemplating the easy roads that I’ve refused to take in the past. The blog played itself out. Eagles also had a song along similar words. And then the week unravelled itself in its funny ways. Yeah.. easy roads huh!!!!

I do think that the universe sometimes does conspire. Think about it. I hurt myself the week when I was left most vulnerable. Most of my friends were occupied and I couldn’t bug em anymore. My folks were away on a vacation. Work , lets just say that the fire fighting had to be turned up a notch! The set up was perfect to test the limits of my endurance.

The start:

It’s always magical. The whole act is nothing short of Disney-like magic. Sympathies. Lovely stuff that. I had a few folks expressing their concern over my wellbeing and absolute anger over my recklessness. They had the best of intent in their heart. I’m ever so grateful to have lovely friends. Beyond their words, there was something sinister brewing. I enjoyed playing the victim of circumstances card. The attention was splendid. However, that was all there was to it.

Drama works best when there is an audience. Left immobile and disconnected from the world, I didn’t have anyone to waste drama on. I cut the sympathy phase down and focused on what had to be done. A lot is achieved under the cloak of incognizant silence.

What next:

So there were limitations. Couldn’t move the neck or my arms. Driving was out of the question. I had managed to switch off my mobile for one day. Work had caught up and I couldn’t resist the temptation of checking out how bad things were headed without me around. I was right. Things go horribly wrong on days when you are the most helpless. Hot packs and ice packs later, I managed to find a way to sit for 30 odd minutes at a time. That was more than ample window of opportunity to put up a decent fight.

Filling the void :

The most compelling lesson that I learnt through my ordeal was that pain is an excellent substitute for all voids. When I was miserable, the only thing driving me, motivating me , helping me keep the show running was a state when I’d no longer feel that pain. 4 days later, when the pain receded, when I could move about the house and carry out chores of keeping the house clean enough, I did feel a little cheated. I no longer had a driving force to look forward to. When you find yourself left all alone to fend the challenges that overwhelm you, you’d be surprised to see how much of what you thought you wanted, makes no real difference in your life. Its only through your tempest you figure out what you need and what you really can live withoutšŸ™‚

Interesting that. Misery is such a smart seductive foe. It’s very presence keeps us both engaged and trapped.

Take it easy!

And finally connects back to taking things the easy way. The way I see it, I think I’ve earned my right to bust my shoulder. Sounds like a dumb stupid statement. But hear me out. I bust my shoulders by doing something that I had never dared to do before. The whole act was beyond my wildest dream a few years ago. I could never manage pull ups before. I hurt myself pushing myself to limits of my current condition. I went the extra mile. Hurt myself and shot down in a blaze of glory.

Why would I want to take the easy road? Yes, my choices in life hurt sometimes. Yes, I would let myself down and would definitely let the people around me down sometimes. I would end up there not because I took the easy way out. I’d be there because I wouldn’t take that road. The way I see it, its not about easy or hard. Its about what sustains and what doesn’t.

Had I believed in the miracles of a magic cure, I’d have never learnt the VALUE of wanting to stay fit. I’d have never understood the value of making better life choices. Value. That’s the key. When it comes to values, there is no easy or hard. There is only appreciation of it. Either we appreciate it and do what ever it takes to cherish and protect it, or we squander it away. Values.

And so through my 7 days of exile, my 7 circles of alienated hell, I stood face to face , shoulder to shoulder (busted shoulder) with what I believe are my values. Yeah, I’m gonna say that it was well worth the price. Many more muscles and bones left in the body to break. Would gladly do that to affirm my faith in what I believe.

And so what do I believe in????

“Don’t let the sound of your own wheels drive you crazy
Lighten up while you still can
Don’t even try to understand
Just find a place to make your stand, and take it easy”

Leave a Reply

