In words I trust

I don’t want to write stories that delude life. No boy meets girl. Boy fights and girl fights and universe does a maktub. I take comforts in writing about losing things that hurt the very fabric of being us. I want to write about that loss, that sway of emotions and that struggle one chooses to wage, in order to celebrate life. Ya, that’s the shit I’d love to sit and write about. – katz

 

I don’t believe in coincidences. We coast through a lot of seemingly random events and witness the miracles of those events when they converge into a point, into a moment in time. All it ever takes is a leap of faith and an open mind to see them through.

 

One such convergence was meeting a few friends over the Story Mirror event. Armed with thoughts in my mind, dreams in my heart and a dedicated conviction to my words, I sat through an evening that would go on to remind me the my drive to write. I would write even if there was no one to read what I write. My faith was rewarded that wonderful evening.

A hall is just a hall. Sans life, sans emotions. It comes alive when there are people who make an effort to bring the inanimate to life. The evening didn’t disappoint. I’m bad with names, i’m worse with faces. What stood to be the biggest takeaway of the evening was a wonderful conversation that I happened to be a part of.

 

“I grew tired. I didn’t want to do it anymore”, the sweet lady said. (Sweet lady coz I’m guilty of not remembering her name. Her smiles, yes. That i remember).

 

Bragadeesh’s words also haunt me. “I do things. Then I dont. I leave a mark and move on to the next” .

 

Two distinct personalities. Two distinct spirits with one thing in common. They both chose to soar free along the towering heights of life. Icarus was a tale of the bloke who burnt up. Wish he could see these friends of mine. They’d challenge the sun any day!

I silently made a note of never living in fear anymore. There comes a moment in life when we dare to utter the words “So be it”. I made a note.

 

Writing is a blessed curse. An idea seeded into the fertile soil of the mind, it gnaws to grow towards the light of words. That is the journey of anyone who dares to flirt with words. The session was a constant reminder of that. One write because one writes. It’s a voluntary choice to embrace the exile from norms of social living. It’s like falling in love at the first sight. Consumed by stirred emotions, fearless to causes and repercussions, oblivious to pains and hurt that might ensue some day. Writing is that moment of love, which dares you to defy the odds. Are you ready? Will you leap away from the promising comforts of a cliff?

 

The crux of what I learnt can be described as following

Set yourself free – Time and again, I was burdened by choices and forced limitations of the freedom that words provide. Time and again, I was reminded that writing need not have to be restricted by acceptance. One writes and one writes. That’s all there is to it. I learnt to set my words free. I could breath life into characters and put them through whatever I chose and fancied. Who was I to judge them?

What do u stand to achieve with your words –  Delusion is a world that is painted through words. Delusion should not become the world that holds our hand when we paint those words. There is no right and wrong to intentions behind our words. Some write to make money. Some write for that shot at glory. Some write to sell books and Some write to write. I soon learnt that writing is a choice towards that destination. What our words mean to us , in terms of a final product, will go on to determine what we choose to write. There is no judgement. We are free to pursue dreams in the way we see fit.

 

Textures – One of the most important aspect of writing that i learnt was around textures. It’s the ability to transform readers into believing that they are a part of the world that we create. Be it the place where characters visit to unravel plots, be it the prison of their minds, words must hold the power to transform readers into those open spaces or claustrophobic hell. Texture plays a vital role in holding the plots and characters together. An environment becomes a secondary character that keeps all characters connected and living.

 

When you struggle, either learn or keep the hell away – The coldest and cruelest lesson was along the lines of playing to our strengths. One mustn’t ape the popular choices to words. If a certain genre sells, it makes financial sense to capitalize on it.  There is but a question of skill and competence towards it. I never give up. That being said, failure should never be consistent. When we consistently fail, it’s time to up skill ourselves. Writing is the form of spiritual awareness where one identifies oneself better and is both awake and aware of one’s capabilities. Writing helps keep that delusion away from within.

 

No delivery under 30 minutes – There is no 30 minute guarantee to the world of our making. It takes time. It takes an effort. It takes consistent investment in terms of time , and dedicated pursuit. Give yourself that time. When we rush things, it becomes obviously visible in the way our words start to expressing themselves. When plots get rushed, it reflects our restlessness. Like everything around to our life, a little planning goes a long way indeed.

 

 

I don’t want to write stories that delude life. No boy meets girl. Boy fights and girl fights and universe does a maktub. I take comforts in writing about losing things that hurt the very fabric of being us. I want to write about that loss, that sway of emotions and that struggle one chooses to wage, in order to celebrate life. Ya, that’s the shit I’d love to sit and write about. – katz . 

There might come a day when I get interviewed about my book. That’s probably what I’d say. It’s not arrogance, It’s not a cocky confidence. It’s a clarity in what I’d like to do with my words. Confidence is part arrogance, part delusion, part pessimism , part being a realist and above all, a sight of giving our dreams a little pair of wings to fly.

 

Karthik

Leave a Reply

