The bear necessities 

” And don’t spend your time lookin’ around

For something you want that can’t be found
When you find out you can live without it
And go along not thinkin’ about it
 ” – Baloo the bear! , Bear necessities 


And how true indeed, I wonder as I run that song in my head again. I was probably ten when I watched Disney’s Jungle book for the first time. I was blown away by the adventure. It did make a compelling drama. A sinister tiger. A vicious yet loving panther. A cool dude of a bear. A boy lost in a world that’s not his. 


Years later. I try to see myself through the filters of that movie. What am I? Am I the cynicism of the tiger hell bent on a self destructive revenge? Am I vicious on the outside and fragile and fuzzy on the inside like the panther? Am I in the zen like peaceful state as the bear? am I still the lost clueless boy lost in a world that was not his?


Now that I have your attention. While the thoughts are true and I’ve been thinking about them since I started this blog, this very blog is not about that! It’s still about the bear necessities of life.

“Lunch ho gaya sir”, (have you had your lunch yet?) , a question that I’m comfortable and accustomed to now. The years I’ve spent in this organization, the rapport I’ve built with a smile and a few words over the years, has always ensured that I’ve always been surrounded by a concerned heart that would pause me and ask me that question. The friendly neighbourhood security dude. 

Each time he’d pop the question, that very instant, I’d forget about deadlines, the mess that requires cleaning, the damage control mode, the fixer thoughts running in my head. I’d stop them all. I’d offer my warmest smile. HAAN Bhiayya,(yes bro_, I’d answer. I’d proceed to swipe my card to gain access to the ODC. Everyday, I also make that last minute effort to pause. I’d casually turn to him and ask, Aap ka bhiayya (and you?, have you had your lunch yet?)

It would be his turn to smile and nod his head. We shamelessly exchange this conversation everyday. Be it 4 PM or the peak lunch rush of 1:30. If our paths met in and around lunch, we’d definitely talk about lunch.

In the grand scheme of things, it’s not a big deal. It’s the same question different day. It means nothing. Some days when I skip my lunch, I still tell him yup and ask him. Maybe similar to me, there might be days when he skips and he’d probably tell me the same. Yup.

There is something very beautiful at play here beyond mere words. It’s those 30 seconds of detour from the million thoughts grinding away in my head, do I get a breath of fresh air and I’m given a brand new start to revisit all my thoughts. The derived happiness in those extremely short moments, helps me get rid of the anger, frustration, disappointment or what ever grudge that I might be harbouring in my heart which I’d have accumulated throughout the day. 

It’s that moment of peaceful wilful wish of a smiling conversation that sets me back to a cheerful grin and a cheerful outlook towards life again. The cynic in me dies, the realist and pessimist in me take a break. The good in me stands tall. It’s that good that helps me sustain the momentum for a few more good thoughts.

Those, I’d say are the bear necessities of life. My case, maybe the quintessential feline necessities of life. I don’t want to inspire the world to change. I don’t aspire being a hero. I don’t want to be the man who sold the world. I’m content being the idiot who pauses a second later , turns back and asks, did you have your lunch yet???? There is so much content and satisfaction to what I am, in that given moment. That, I’d say is very much a necessity.


and now I’m humming the epic song : Trust in meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee. Just in meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee , Kaa 🙂 I love that movie 🙂

Karthik

Leave a Reply

