Of betrayed friends

blueeyes

 

Where are you ? My friends that I need

Were you bored of standing by me?

Jaded by the roller coaster ride

The nights you kept kind vigil

by bringing me peace, that I otherwise couldn’t find.


Where are you ? My friends that I need

Were you bored of standing by me?

Tired of my mistakes iterated

Blows after blows you softened

By standing tall and keeping me fenced.


Where are you ? My friends that I need

Were you bored of standing by me?

When I wouldn’t budge and learn things new

When my mind fluttered and heart sank

You flowed an ocean to keep me sane


Where are you ? My friends that I need

Were you bored of standing by me?

Bored of seeing me weak

t’was a time when I lost my face

mirrors cracked and you blurred my own reflection


Where are you ? My friends that I need

Were you bored of standing by me? 

Did you finally throw your hands

Call it quits and desert my eyes

Today you weren’t there. And I need you the most


Where are you ? My friends that I need

Have you left me , my friend

Am I a stranger now? Am I no more to you?

Distraught , despaired and broken

I searched and yearned abandoned.

 

Were you showing me my resolve?

Were you teaching me my strength

Were you my teacher in testing times

or Were you a saint detached ?


And so my friend spoke. 

My very own, my tears

The depth was deep of sorrows vast

Waters ran shallow, the well had run dry

Learn to live without me, he said

Learn to live, he said

I am but a fool’s comfort

I’m your betrayer, destroyer of your peace


For long I watched you frail

For long I waited a change

The longer I was, the longer you were

A junkie symbiotic, hooked and stained.

I’m leaving you my friend, he said

We can’t thrive together, I see

I’d bring your end and your end would bring mine too

And that I cant let be


You were my muse

The object of my whim

I set you free my friend

My love soaked betrayal indeed.


Karthik

Leave a Reply

